Discover the origins and history of the Saudi Arabian Football Federation

Our History

Founded in 1956, SAFF also joined the Federation International Football Association (FIFA) and the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) to organize local championships and to participate in international games.

The Saudi Football Federation organizes local football competitions for international teams and clubs in Saudi Arabia. They supervise 153 clubs participating in football competitions. These clubs are divided into different categories from youth to adult teams.

 

Overview

The Saudi Football Federation is one of the most famous associations in Asia in the field of football. The achievements of Saudi football are plentiful at the regional, continental and international levels. At the regional level, Saudi Arabia won the Gulf Cup title three times in its history. It is enough to point out that the Saudi national football team has never missed the final of the Asian Cup since 1984. Not until in 2004 in China, where the Japanese team won the title for the first time since 1984.

During the five-time Asian Cup final, Saudi Arabia won the title three times, in 1984, 1988 and 1996, after losing the 1992 and 2000 finals to the Japanese team with the same score of 1-0.

At the international level, the Saudi team has reached the World Cup four consecutive times since 1994, where they qualified for the first time. Followed by their qualification at the World Cup France 1998, then the World Cup in South Korea and Japan in 2002 and the World Cup Germany 2006.
One of the greatest achievements by the Saudi junior team was winning the World Youth Championship held in Scotland in 1989,  beating the host team, which is the first of its kind for Asian Football.

Saudi Football achievements did not stop with the national team. The local clubs also participated in continental tournaments in Asia. The first Gulf Asian Team to particpate in the Club World Cup was Al-Nasr Saudi in 2000 followed by Ittihad Saudi in 2005.

 

 

One of the achievements of the Saudi Football Federation is the formation of a strong base and spread of the game in Saudi Arabia, where official figures indicate 16160 players of different age groups playing the game. In addition to the presence of 531 referees, including 10 international referees, and 260 Saudi trainers from different ages. The Saudi Arabian Football Association adopted the new logo on 1 May 2017 in the presence of the President of the Federation of football, Adel Ezzat and several members of the Union.

 
His Royal Highness Prince Faisal bin Fahad bin Abdulaziz

H.H Prince Faisal bin Fahad bin Abdulaziz

His Highness, may God have mercy on him, had his fingerprints in the development of sport, culture and youth movement in the Kingdom and the Arab world through the ambitious national programs sponsored by the General Presidency for Youth Welfare, in addition to the continuous activity through the Arab Union of Sports.

    Our News

    Sign up now to get exclusive access to official news and features

من نحن

تاريخنا

تأسـس الاتحاد السعودي رسمياً عام 1956 وفي العام نفسه انضم إلى الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم وأيضاً الاتحاد الآسيوي لكرة القدم ليبدأ مسيرة تنظيم بطولاته المحلية إضافة إلى مشاركاته الخارجية التي حقق خلالها العديد من الإنجازات الكبيرة.

ينظم الاتحاد السعودي مسابقات كرة القدم المحلية إضافة إلى تنظيم مشاركات المنتخبات والأندية السعودية دوليا حيث يشرف فعليا على 153 ناديا مشارك في منافسات كرة القدم، تتوزع هذه الاندية على مختلف الدرجات والفئات السنية بدءا من البراعم وحتى فرق الكبار.

نبذة عنا

يعتبر الاتحاد السعودي لكرة القدم أحد أشهر الاتحادات في قارة آسيا في مجال كرة القدم فانجازات الكرة السعودية كثيرة جدا على كافة الصعد الإقليمية والقارية والدولية فعلي الصعيد الإقليمي حقق المنتخب السعودي لقب بطولة كأس الخليج لكرة القدم 3 مرات بتاريخه واما على الصعيد القاري فقد تسيد المنتخب السعودي حقبة كبيرة من بطولة كأس آسيا ويكفي الإشارة إلى ان المنتخب السعودي الأول لكرة القدم لم يغب عن المباراة النهائية لكأس آسيا منذ عام 1984 حتى عام 2004 حيث كان غيابه عن نهائي البطولة التي اقيمت بالصين والتي فاز بلقبها المنتخب الياباني هو الأول منذ عام 1984 م.

وخلال وصول المنتخب السعودي إلى نهائي كأس آسيا خمس مرات متتالية فاز باللقب ثلاث مرات كانت بدايتها عام 1984 ثم عام 1988 ثم 1996 بعد أن كان قد خسر نهائيتي 1992 و2000 امام المنتخب الياباني وبذات النتيجة 1 – 0.

وعلى الصعيد الدولي حقق المنتخب السعودي العديد من الإنجازات ابرزها وصوله إلى نهائيات كأس العالم أربع مرات متتالية منذ عام 1994 حيث كانت المرة الأولى التي يتأهل بها المنتخب السعودي إلى نهائيات المونديال ليتأهل ثانية إلى مونديال فرنسا 1998 ومونديال كوريا الجنوبية واليابان عام 2002 ومونديال ألمانيا 2006، ثم تأهل للمرة الخامسة لمونديال روسيا 2018.

ولا نغفل عن الإنجاز الكبير الذي حققه المنتخب السعودي للناشئين عندما حقق بطولة كأس العالم للناشئين التي اقيمت باسكتلندا عام 1989 والتي فاز بها المنتخب السعودي بعد تغلبه بالمباراة النهائية على المنتخب الاستكلندي المضيف في انجاز كبير هو الأول من نوعه للكرة الآسيوية.

أحد الإنجازات التي حققها الاتحاد السعودي لكرة القدم هو تكوين انتشار وقاعدة قوية للعبة في السعودية فهناك كما تشير الأرقام الرسمية 16160 لاعبا من مختلف الفئات السنية يمارسون اللعبة ،إضافة إلى وجود 531 حكما منهم 10 حكام دوليين، كما يبلغ عدد المدربين السعوديين 260 مدربا سعوديا يمارسون عملهم بفرق الاندية بمختلف الفئات السنية.

صاحب السمو الملكي الامير فيصل بن فهد بن عبد العزيز

صاحب السمو الملكي الامير فيصل بن فهد بن عبد العزيز

كان لسموه – رحمه الله – جهود بارزة في المواقف العربية والمؤتمرات والاجتماعات الدولية، كما أن له بصمات مشهودة في تطوير الرياضة والثقافة والحركة الشبابية في المملكة العربية السعودية والعالم العربي، عن طريق البرامج الوطنية الطموحة التي رعاها سموه من خلال الرئاسة العامة لرعاية الشباب، إلى جانب النشاط المستمر من خلال الاتحاد العربي للألعاب الرياضية.

    النشرة الإخبارية

    استقبل أخبار وقرارات الاتحاد السعودي لكرة القدم على بريدك الالكتروني